I'm looking
for help...
Aidpage is free!

Free downloads: GrantGate®  Federal Money Retriever®

Coastal Zone Management Estuarine Research Reserves

Published on AidPage by IDILOGIC on Jun 24, 2005

Who is eligible to apply...

Land acquisition, development, operation, and facilities construction grants are available to any coastal State and, in some cases, public or private person, including those bordering the Great Lakes. For the purposes of the Coastal Zone Management Act, the coastal State also applies to Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, Guam, American Samoa, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands. The Governor shall designate the State agency or entity to be the applicant. Competitive research grants are available to any coastal State or qualified public or private person. Education grants are available to any coastal State entity.

Eligible Applicant Categories:
Eligible Functional Categories:

(1) For development grants: A letter from the Governor designating the lead agency for new reserve development; (2) for competitive research grant proposals which do not come from the lead agency: A letter from the reserve manager indicating formal support of the application by the lead agency; (3) for reserve operations, land acquisition, and construction: An application from the reserve lead agency or its designee. For all grants, a statement of work and budget estimate must be submitted. Costs will be determined in accordance with OMB Circular No. A-87 for state and local governments.

Note:This is a brief description of the credentials or documentation required prior to, or along with, an application for assistance.

About this section:

This section indicates who can apply to the Federal government for assistance and the criteria the potential applicant must satisfy. For example, individuals may be eligible for research grants, and the criteria to be satisfied may be that they have a professional or scientific degree, 3 years of research experience, and be a citizen of the United States. Universities, medical schools, hospitals, or State and local governments may also be eligible. Where State governments are eligible, the type of State agency will be indicated (State welfare agency or State agency on aging) and the criteria that they must satisfy.

Certain federal programs (e.g., the Pell Grant program which provides grants to students) involve intermediate levels of application processing, i.e., applications are transmitted through colleges or universities that are neither the direct applicant nor the ultimate beneficiary. For these programs, the criteria that the intermediaries must satisfy are also indicated, along with intermediaries who are not eligible.